I deleted the app from my device. Does that mean my subscription is canceled?
No. The subscription is billed through the device's purchasing service (Apple's App Store, Roku Store, Google Play, Apple TV), so you must cancel the subscription through them. Deleting the app does not automatically cancel your subscription.